What Is The Best Exercise For You?

No prize for guessing that running is the result I got after taking a fitness quiz. The result read;

Running is one of the most popular ways to work out worldwide and this evergreen method maintains to recruit a lot of new believers. You are able to set your own pace, distance, time and much more. You will need your own self-discipline but signing up for local runs or marathons is a great way to stick with it

I can’t argue with the statement above, it is so very me.  Running is a major part of my fitness program.

I have tried different forms of exercise over the years to keep myself sane.  If you exercise regularly you know that routine will certainly kill your mojo.  To keep things interesting try and add on different routines to your already existing go to form of exercise.   Below are some of the exercises I do to keep me focused and motivated.  Remember fitness should also make you happy.  Incorporate exercises you look forward to that way you will actually do them with zero excuses and smile while doing so; we all know smiling burns calories.

1. Zumba

I LOVE to dance.  Anyone who knows me will tell you that I will be on the dance floor for hours on end as long as the DJ is playing my favourite type of music.  I bought myself Zumba DVDs when I was just starting out on my journey and I would make sure I put in at least 45 minutes twice a day to get results.  It worked like a charm!  I watched my love handles and my worries melt away effortlessly.  The great thing about Zumba is that you can workout from home or join a group, it’s completely up to you.

2. Yoga

I was skeptical to try this out the first time but after shelving the Yoga DVD for months I finally decided to try it out.  The first days were tough because Yoga requires your full attention and there is no time to muck about.  After weeks of trying I finally got to finish the entire 45 minute workout and I was hooked.  What I love about Yoga is that I can workout without my shoes, I wear light clothing, strength, flexibility and mental health are greatly enhanced.  Who knows, if I keep at it I might finally be able to do the “Crow Pose” and you will never hear or see the end of it!

3. Swimming

I started swimming when I was a little toddler and I haven’t stopped since.  Before I got hooked onto fitness swimming was one of those things I would do to cool down from the heat.  Things have changed over the years and each time I go out to swim I make sure I clock in a certain number of laps before I start chilling by the pool.  There are a lot of benefits that come with swimming which include helping to maintain a healthy weight, healthy heart and lungs as well as tone muscles and build endurance.  (The endurance part works wonders for my running)

9d5b910e-bf99-49a7-9ed0-0cf37c7e21a3.jpg
13 minutes of skipping 🙂

4. Skipping

A friend recommended I try out skipping at the beginning of the year and I have never looked back.  The first days were tough, I would skip for 5 minutes and feel like I was going to die any second.  I kept pressing on and within weeks I had found my rhythm and my time got better each day.  Now I can safely skip non-stop for at least 6 minutes.  My secret?  A good playlist and a reliable digital skipping rope.  I skip from the comfort of my home and I know I annoy the heck out of the guys who stay downstairs.  Number one benefit of skipping is that it’s best friends with weight loss, it helps improve your skin given the amount of sweating that comes with it and skipping is known to burn around 1300 calories per hour.  What’s not to love??

There is never a dull moment on my fitness programme.  I fit in all the things I enjoy to do so that the journey continues.  A lot of people always ask me what type of workout they should try out and I always have a list ready for different individuals.  However, to make your life easy I suggest that you try out this quiz and have it help you determine what will work best for you.  You can find it over here.

What is your go to form of exercise?  What else do you incorporate when things get boring?  I would love to hear from you.

Stay logged onto my Health and Fitness Journey Series Episode 7 will be live on Thursday at 9:00am.

®Fitness Bae

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Admiring the dedication you put into your website and detailed information you present.
    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that
    isn’t the same outdated rehashed information. Great
    read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including
    your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. MaKupsy says:

      Why thank you ever so much. You have made my day 🤗 I’m glad you have found the information here useful. Thank you for taking time to read. I have a lifestyle blog as well when you have time you can go through makupsy.wordpress.com

      Have a lovely day

      Like

Leave a Reply

