My Relationship With Food

I used to have a very dysfunctional relationship with food until I realised that food was actually not the enemy.  I went on extreme diets at the start of my journey.  I remember I went through a phase where I would not eat a filling supper and settle for a fruit or a small tin of yoghurt.  The plan was to lose weight fast and if I wanted that to happen I was going to starve myself until I got to my goal weight.  BAD IDEA!  I only ended up overeating the next day to compensate for not eating the night before.  As you can obviously imagine I ended up gaining weight instead of actually losing it.  After that I ditched trying to diet and decided I would try something else…

Personally, “dieting” has not worked for me and over the years I have managed to maintain my personal weight range effortlessly through eating filling and nutritious meals.  Please note that I LOVE my food very dearly, it is the fuel I need to keep running every other day.  I will share my typical meals for a day.

Morning

Before I leave the house I have any fruit in season.  I am currently enjoying a selection ofbananas, oranges, naartjies and apples.

Mid morning I have black tea with lemon(I love lemons I sometimes eat them as is).  I pair my tea with a sandwich.  The sandwich fillings vary from eggs, avocado, margarine, marmalade, peanut butter.  Whatever tickles my fancy really.

 

Afternoon

DSC_3814_seal-768x511
Peanut Butter Rice, Vegetables and Meat Image from Zimbokitchen

 

Sadza rezviyo, any white meat, vegetables.  I cannot stomach a meal without vegetables.  The food won’t make sense without it.  I am not a fan of red meat mainly because when I was pregnant the aroma of beef made me feel like throwing up and unfortunately for me years later it still has the same effect.  ANYWAYS, I was saying;  I make sure I eat a filling lunch because I know I will be up and about all day and my food will get to be digested and used up during the day.

*Zviyo is good for you because: it has low GI, more fibre, tastes infinitely better, grain meant for human consumption not cattle feed and it’s an indigenous grain.*

Mid afternoon snack On days my lunch is not so filling I opt to snack on some roasted peanuts or maputi and down that with a glass of water.

Evening

Mushroom stew, vegetables and a small portion of sadza or rice.  When I am training for an event of sort I try and make sure I have filling meals.  I save the grilled meat and a salad for supper for days I am not doing any intense workouts or when the next day is a Rest Day.

ZimboKitchen-Rooibos-Chicken_2-768x511.png
Image from Zimbo Kitchen

I make sure I take my time to prepare delicious meals and not compromise on the quality.  My go to place when it comes to looking up easy to make recipes is Zimbo Kitchen ;ever since I bumped into her website my kitchen experience has been the best ever!  You should visit her site and try out one or two recipes, I promise you won’t go wrong.

5 Tips To Make Food Your Friend:

  1. Be yourself.  Don’t try and hop onto a cabbage diet just because your friend is doing the same.  Do what works for you.
  2. Do what keeps you sane.  I know for a fact that starving myself for supper is a BIG NO and I will not be doing that anytime soon I would like to have a good nights sleep thank you very much.
  3. Do what you can afford.  Some of the available “diets” are actually expensive.  I can’t even begin to imagine how much coconut rice goes for in Zimbabwe.
  4. Do something you can do forever.  Personally, my eating habits are something that I know I can sustain.  If I travel I will still be able to have basic meals and not have to start going about town looking for specific foods.
  5. Eat when you are hungry.  Too often you eat just because your body is programmed to eat at that particular time.  Sometimes you have to ask yourself if it’s food you actually want or it’s your internal alarm reacting to something it is used to.  It’s really okay not to gobble down food all the time.

As you can see, I actually eat with portion control in mind.  I don’t conform to “diets” because I strongly believe that my body needs fuel and the majority of the diets that I have tried have left me hungry and unhappy.  I eat so that I can exercise and I exercise so that I can eat. Everything in moderation goes a long way.  I do not deprive myself of the things that I want to eat or drink (we will talk about this soon) because I believe fitness is a journey that should be enjoyed and not endured.

How are your eating habits?  Do you look forward to the meals that you plan for yourself?  Where did you get the current diet that you are on and how is it working for you so far?

Stay logged onto my Health and Fitness Journey Series Episode 5 will be live on Tuesday at 9:00am.  I will be sharing tips on DIY Fitness.  You don’t want to miss this!

Fitness Bae®

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. tineruvimbo says:

    Girl this is by far my favourite blog post. I used to starve myself and it didn’t work. I love your authenticity, you are being real n I love that. Please do more posts like this, I am on a fitness journey, I had the winter chub 😂😂😂😂😂, it wasn’t planned by the way. Thanks girl

    Liked by 1 person

    1. MaKupsy says:

      Awww thank you for reading Tineruvimbo. I love that you love this post. I keep everything as honest as possible. I have been through some very unhealthy phases and I would like to help as many people as I can to stop themselves from walking down the same path. Don’t worry about the winter chub, if you work out and get back to eating right it will be gone in no time. 🙂

      Thank you for stopping by.

      Like

  2. My relationship with food has also been complicated for a long time. I’ve been on a health and fitness journey for years and I still struggle with healthy eating. But now I know that starving myself doesn’t work. Congrats on your healthy approach!

    -Fabi at Wonder Fabi

    Liked by 1 person

    1. MaKupsy says:

      Food is the reason most people don’t get to their fitness goal. Most people assume that if you exercise a lot you can get away with eating whatever you want but that’s not the case. 80% diet 20% exercise to get fit and healthy. Don’t worry about struggling with eating healthy in good time it will be easier for you to do. It took me a while as well. Thank you for reading Fabiola 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

