How To: Run In Winter

First thing’s first DO NOT OVER LAYER!  I did this two winters ago and nearly threw away my hoodie halfway into my run.  I asked myself why I thought wearing a tshirt, light sweater and a hoodie was a great idea, DO NOT DO IT.  Back then what I didn’t realise was that even though the temperature is pretty cold when you leave the house after some distance your body heats up.

layeringinfographic4
Image from Pinterest

Below are a few tips I use when it’s time to run in winter:

  • Invest in a pair of gloves.  The gloves I have are touchscreen gloves meaning I can still operate my phone during my run without having to take them off.  If you don’t need to use your phone then an ordinary pair ($1) will still do the trick so if you start feeling too hot you can always shove them in your jacket pocket, if you lose them it won’t be a train smash.
  • A woolen hat will also be ideal because it will keep your ears warm and protected from the cold wind.
  • Make yourself visible; this applies in any other season by the way.  I now have to leave the house at 6:00 am when the sun is out so that I can see where I am going.  On occasions I choose to run earlier say 5:30 am I make sure I wear reflective or fluorescent gear and my good friend Amy goes all out and wears a headlamp during her runs.  I should invest in one as well!
  • Run twice a day.  I am NOT an evening runner but sometimes it’s too cold to even begin to imagine going out for a 10K run.  Instead, on very rare I will run my 5K in the morning and the other 5K in the evening, that way I complete my set mileage for the day and also not freeze my ass off in the process.
  • Stretch, stretch, stretch.  I can not emphasise this enough times.  You need to warm up before and after your runs.  Winter isn’t too kind to the body; you want to keep your body warm and flexible.  The plan is to prevent injuries and if you stretch religiously your body will be eternally grateful.

Remember summer bodies are made in winter.  You do not want to be the only one dreading to go out to swim,play tennis, rock their short summer dress or shorts because of all the winter weight you gained because you were not exercising.  Get up and do something, winter is the best time to get your fit on!

P.S I have running gear for sale and you should check out my shop you might find something you like.

Maintaining your regular routine, no matter what the weather, keeps excuses at bay!

Fitness Bae®

Leave a Reply

