6 Healthy Habits For Kids

Healthy Habit: A behaviour that is beneficial to one’s physical or mental health, often linked to a high level of discipline and self-control.

If there is one thing I have learnt in my nearly 6 years of motherhood it’s that children learn mostly through imitation.  This is the reason why I have made it essential that my little girl learns as many healthy habits as possible from the onset so that it becomes a major part of her life.  If you have a child you will definitely enjoy reading this post.  Then again it is never too late for grown ups to include new habits in your life so you can benefit from this as well.  Sit back and enjoy this less than 10 minute read.

Drinking Water

I make sure the moment she wakes up in the morning she has a glass of warm water ready by her bedside.  Researchers will have you know that children between age 5 to 8 should drink 1 litre of water a day.  This is one habit that is a big part of my life and my daughter drinks water religiously because according to her “It helps make you go to the loo easily” .  You can tell who she has been listening to!

Food

I think I am one of the few lucky mothers on this planet.  My daughter does not like meat.  She will eat it alright but it’s always a fight.  The other thing she is not a big fan of is sadza unless we eat it together in the same plate.  When it’s time to eat I make sure I pack her plate with lots of vegetables and a bit of meat and sometimes carbs.  She will eat bread any day though, that seems to be a personal favourite of hers.  What I can safely say I am happy with is that she loves her fruits and vegetables.  I am still trying to figure out if it’s because I have been teaching her this from the get go or she genuinely likes them.  Whatever the reason may it not go away anytime soon.

Exercise

My little girl loves to dance, the number of videos that I have taken of her are enough to finish all the memory in my phone.  What I love about this hobby of hers is that she does not realise that not only will she be having fun but she will be exercising at the same time.  I have made it a point to always upload dance videos together with educational applications on her Samsung tablet to keep her hobby alive.

d6cead6d254453c7a28b0106726de89b.jpg
Image from Pinterest

Sleep

A 6 year old needs about 9 to 11 hours of sleep.  I have already talked about the benefits of sleep here and they apply to both young and old. At this age children don’t make it easy to tuck them in because they still want to play or other never ending reasons they have to stay up past their bed time.  Try and get your little one to get enough rest through keeping her busy throughout the day that way come bed time they will sleep like a log.

Hygiene

Open windows once you get out of bed to get some fresh air into your room.  This applies to you as well.  Hygiene is one of the very important habits that some parents neglect.  Teach your child to wash her hands, brush her teeth and bath from a very young age.   Keeping your body clean helps prevent illness and infection from bacteria.

Read

I have a mini collection of bed time story books that I try to make time to read to my little girl every other night.  The reason(s) I do this is because I want us to have some time to talk about how her day was; to get to bond and enjoy a good story.  However, studies also show that reading to your child helps her develop strong reading skills and may help your child succeed in school and work.  What’s not to love about that?

These are my most important healthy habits but I know you have some to add on.  It’s always good to learn new positive habits to try out and perhaps incorporate into my life  Let’s talk about them in the comments section below.

Fitness Bae®

Leave a Reply

