Key Benefits of Sleeping

According to researchers sleep requirements vary slightly from person to person, most healthy adults need between 7 to 9 hours of sleep per night to function at their best.  

About two years ago I decided to challenge myself and run as much distance as I could between 4:30 am and 5:30 am.  It was some time in summer and for nearly 5 days each week I woke up at exactly 4:30 am and went out for a run.  I used to go to bed around 10 pm; I did this for a straight month and by the time I was approaching the second month my body was slowly shutting down.  I would get home soon after work, take a bath, hardly have time to cook anything and fall asleep.

For a moment though I thought I was pregnant and alarm bells went off because that was one of the symptoms I suffered within my first trimester; sleepiness.  I had a talk with a friend of mine and he simply told me that what I need to do was get enough rest and slow down on the running.  You obviously know I thought he was talking crazy but after a few days I decided to try out his advice and it was at that point that the key benefits of good old sleep were unleashed.

After taking my sleep seriously(at least 8 hours each day) these are the key benefits of sleeping that I have experienced:

  1. Sleep Better

Now when I go to bed I pass out especially after a day of working out.  Two weeks ago I ran a 9K which was an uphill for at least 5K of the distance and when I slept I didn’t even get a chance to wake up for a pee break. The sleep was that nice!

  1. More Energy

Sleep = Recharging.  Ever noticed how your mobile phone performs perfectly on a full battery charge.  You can take all the beautiful pictures, spend more than enough time on social media apps, surf the internet and generally enjoy using your phone.  It’s the same with your body, when you recharge all the other activities become a walk in the park.  Runs are smoother, lifting weights is easier, and focusing on your Yoga poses is more accurate; see where I’m going with this?

  1. Enthusiasm

Each time I get enough sleep I wake up with a smile on my face.  Even my good morning messages are filled with positive vibes and happy emojis.  I look forward to the day and my body will be rushing with feel good hormones.  Good bye depression!

Those are just a few of the many benefits that come with getting a good night’s sleep.  If I were you I would enjoy sleeping in at least two or three times a week especially given that it’s winter this part of the world.

Feel free to share some of the sleep benefits you know in the comments section below.

Image from Lochnation &photo taken by Noreen Yolanda

Fitness Bae®

3 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

