April: Alcohol Awareness Month

Alcohol is NOT your friend when you are on this fitness journey!  I am not saying that you shouldn’t drink at all but you might want to cut down if you expect to see any results.  The amount of calories in alcohol; top that up with the appetite that comes with a hangover…you wouldn’t want to be your own enemy of progress right? Right!

This month is Alcohol Awareness Month and seeing that you don’t seem to like to read up on stuff I have decided to do it for you and make this read as short and informative as possible.

For the wine lovers like myself; a glass of wine (125ml) is 82 calories and a 750ml bottle contains about 625 calories.  Now the last run I went for was 7K and I burnt 522 calories so you can do the maths.  Eye popping I know.

Dangers Of Excessive Alcohol Consumption include:

  • Injury
  • Memory Loss
  • Violence
  • Liver Disease
  • Poor Sex Decisions

Now I would like to believe that alcohol is not the problem.  People who drink alcohol and don’t know when to stop are the problem.  Moderation is key.  There are actually some benefits that come with it.  According to a Google search;

Alcohol IS good for you: Up to 5 drinks each week ‘lowers risk of heart failure and heart attack’ Drinking alcohol in moderation is beneficial to the heart, a new study has revealed. Those who drink wine, spirits or beer regularly are less prone to heart failure and heart attacks than people who rarely or never drink.

That said; I used to be an alcoholic.  You can read about it from here.  It is one of the reasons why I actually started exercising.  Getting stupid drunk every weekend was not the best thing to do for my body and my mental health.  However, I still drink, but now from drinking everyday back then I now drink occasionally and when that happens I have a glass of white crisp wine.  Amazing how things change?

I hope you share this with anyone you think might need to read this.  I encourage you to make small changes when it comes to your drinking habits, before you know it you won’t have to use it as a coping mechanism.

 

Fitness Bae®

 

Leave a Reply

