How To Lose Belly Fat

How to lose belly fat has to be the number one question all new mothers ask once it is safe for them to exercise! I got this message from a Tweind of mine and I thought instead of giving her tips why not write up an article that will benefit everyone who needs to get rid of belly fat.

“Hi dear, how are you? I’m almost 6 weeks post giving birth, help me lose my tummy fat please.”

In our culture we are told to tie a cloth around our tummies once we give birth to help with getting it back to its pre-pregrancy shape and lose that belly fat at the same time. I don’t want to give out information that I have not tried out but I have been told it has worked for some people. I had a C-section and could not do the whole tying my tummy with a cloth thing so I had to exercise and eat right instead. This is what I did to get my tummy back and I hope it will work for you too.

The first thing you have to remember is that you were carrying another human being for a good 9 months. That means your body went through different changes and in the same way when you want to lose weight it is going to take time. It will not be an overnight success!

• Whatever you do, DO NOT STARVE YOURSELF. You are a nursing mother and you need all the nutrients you can get for you and the baby.
• Always remember that losing weight is 80% diet and 20% exercise.
• Never ever skip breakfast. It’s the most important meal of the day.
• Eating healthy is cheap. There is no way you can afford to feed your body with the wrong things and expect to see results. If you are in Zimbabwe you can get a whole 2kgs of apples for just under $2.50 in Pick n Pay, Pineapples are a dollar for two if you buy from the guys who move around with carts and cucumbers are a dollar for so many. The idea is to buy fresh fruit in season. Stay away from tinned fruit; it is packed with additives which you don’t need! EATING RIGHT IS CHEAP.
• Make it a habit to have water, fruit, maputi and nuts handy so that when hunger strikes before a meal you can snack on that. The idea is to never feel hungry but eat small nutritious meals every few hours.
• Stay away from red meat. If you can’t help it then cut down on the portions. White meat is much healthier and its even faster and easier to prepare.
• I know a lot of people who say you should not eat carbs if you are trying to lose belly fat but tell you what, I eat carbs and I still lose weight. The trick is just to mind your portions. It will be hard at first but with time your body will adjust.
• Colour your plate! I always tell people that when they serve their food it needs to look inviting. Fruits, vegetables, fibre, carbs, protein, throw it in there for maximum health benefits.
• Breastfeeding also helps very much. I lost a good 16 kgs after giving birth because I think my daughter just loved milk too much! LOL, but yes, breastfeeding really does help. I don’t know the science behind it though, I will read on it soon.
• Losing fat in one spot IS NOT POSSIBLE and doing endless amounts of crunches will not make you lose fat from the belly. I know you were hoping for that but I am really sorry to disappoint you. You have to put in the work if you want to see results. You can try various forms of exercises and add in the crunches. For example; Zumba, Aerobics, walking, running, swimming and skipping.
• You don’t have to break a budget to workout. I have been exercising from home since 2014 and I have managed to lose and maintain my weight. Find a space you are comfortable working out in within your home and start from there. Once you are fully committed to your workout you can then join the gym.
• Once you find an exercise routine that works for you commit to it and see changes taking place. I would recommend working out at least 3 times a week for a minimum of 20mins.
• Drink a lot of water, find out how much your body needs and stick to it. I know a lot of people don’t like drinking water but trust me it helps with the hunger.
• Avoid feeling stressed out. Stress and weight gain are best friends.
• Read A LOT. The internet is packed with information on health and fitness. Join groups that are health related, ask questions, research and try out new things to see what will work for you.

Lastly find ways to stay inspired. It is easy to lose focus and give up. The one out of many  things that keeps me motivated to exercise and eat right is that I want to live to see my daughter grow into a beautiful young woman. What will keep you going?

P.S Don’t be hard on yourself. Not all days will be good days. Just dust yourself and try again the next day. After all this will be a lifetime journey. 😊😊

I have included some images for workouts you can try and what your plate should ideally look like. I hope this helps. You can also follow my Pinterest board here for different ideas on workouts you can try.

Any questions, additions and contributions on how you can get rid of belly fat?

Let’s talk, 2017 is the year of abs!

Fitness Bae®

Leave a Reply

