Berry Overnight Oats

I LOVE my oats, but it’s the preparing them part that I am not a fan of.  Yes I know there are instant oats now but I am one of those die hard people who just take time to adjust to new things.

The one time so many few weeks ago I bumped into one of my favourite blogger’s post and she had put up this recipe that I promised myself I would try this weekend.  Does that just not look absolutely divine!!  For a fitness enthusiast like me this is the ideal go to meal because it is packed with healthy food options.  By the way her blog is absolutely beautiful and I can never get enough of it.

The best part about overnight oats is that you can make them the night before and eat them on the go wherever you are! Which makes them so perfect for people like me who start the day early and don’t get a chance to eat at home (snaps for my morning gym goers!!!) Apart from being really convenient they taste AH-MAY-ZING and are really easy to make.  www.onehalfofathird.com

pic 2.jpg

BERRY OVERNIGHT OATS

Yield: 2 Servings

Ingredients

2 cups instant Oats
2 scoops Protein powder of your choice
1 cup Soy milk
Optional Sweetener (protein powder is sweet so I don’t add anything else)
Handful Berries of your choice

Directions

  1. Mix all your ingredients excluding the berries in a bowl and set aside
  2. Fill your jars halfway with your oats
  3. Slice up your berries and layer on over your oats
  4. Fill the rest of your jars with the oats and place in fridge and leave overnight
  5. To serve: top the jar with more berries and enjoy!

 

I am definitely giving this a try this weekend and see if I can add this to my list of things I love to eat.  In true Zimbabwean style I will definitely be replacing the soy milk and the berries what not with whatever I can get my hands on, the important thing is that fruit is involved somehow, right?

You can replace the berries with any of the fruits below:

  • Banana
  • Peach
  • Mango
  • Strawberry
  • Nuts
  • Natural Yoghurt

You can get in touch with Mel on Twitter or on her page www.onehalfofathird.com for more mouth watering recipes.  

Fun Oats Fact: A cup is only 130 calories!  It also stays in your stomach longer, making you feel full longer.  You will have less hunger and cravings.

Have a healthy week ahead!

Fitness Bae®

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

