Traditional Rope VS Digital Rope

Today is Day 18 of the Skipping Challenge.  We decided that once we get to 5 000 skips participants are free to continue with the challenge all the way to day 30. Alternatively you are free to do 5 000 skips for the first 5 days and 6 000 skips on the last 5 days.  The aim there is to focus on time and see how you improve each day instead on focusing on the number of skips.  The other day we talked about our experiences of using traditional and digital skipping ropes on the WhatsApp Group.

6aa8a93d-62e5-4a84-965a-cf89e98f4700.jpg
Traditional Skipping Rope

 

 

We call this rope the “rope that was home schooled” because well, it’s old school.  Tariro uses this rope. Her thoughts on it: “When I misstep and the rope hits any part of my body it is painful.  BUT I actually think I will continue using it as it requires more effort from my end.”

Aby said:  I am having a hard time maintaining my balance and counting at the same time.  Manual counting is hard and I can’t wait to get my private school rope!

 

Christie said: “It takes me 25 minutes to do 3 000 skips on the traditional skipping rope, however the digital skipping rope *read as the private school rope* I take 15 to 20 minutes to do 3 000 skips.  Many will not agree but the home schooled rope is harder to use than the private school rope.  The former is made from fabric and your hands move more and that is why you will hardly have speed on your jump.  The latter is made of strong rubber and turns faster giving a higher count rate.  It is easier to jump using it.  I move twice as fast on it.”

 

25830523-3cf1-4cbb-bc12-325302eb1004.jpg
Digital Skipping Rope

Private school rope is much easier.  I am not belittling those using it.  It’s like a runner who uses a track versus a runner who uses a route that has hills.  They both burn a lot but the rate is not the same.

At the end of the discussion the private school rope was voted the rope to get and most participants are now using it.  I currently use the home schooled rope and I have to tell you it’s no walk in the park!  I placed my order and I will be getting my very on Private School rope next week.

For those taking part in the skipping challenge using the home schooled rope, you can use either a Stopwatch, SHealth or Cardio Trainer App to track the time and calories burnt.  Unfortunately you will have to do the skip counting yourself.

Handy Tips:

  • You can also skip  between sets of other exercises, go for time or total skips to suit your needs for that workout.
  • Added benefits of skipping include improved coordination, agility, footwork, quickness and endurance.

Do you have any questions, additions or subtractions you would like to share?  Hit the comments section and let’s get talking.

Grab a rope and come skip with us!

Fitness Bae®

Leave a Reply

